The Department of Physics is one of the vibrant science departments of Holy Cross College, Nagercoil. It was established in the year 1965 with Sr. Judith as the only faculty member for the pre-University course. The thrust areas of research are theoretical and computational physics, crystal growth and characterization, nanophysics, thin films and polymers. The curriculum is designed to include thrust areas of physics. National level seminars are organized regularly to create awareness on recent trends in physics. Students are motivated to participate in summer training programs at institutes of national repute.